Crunched for time, but want a demo? Watch our pre-recorded demo instead!

Watch the Demo

Hello, Is It Hidden Projects You’re Looking For? Unlocking User Permission Value

Hide Projects Craft B
LinkedIn icon Share
Tl;dr

With CompanyCam, maximizing efficiency for your entire team starts with utilizing different user role options. As much as you want to expand project visibility, there are times when you want to set who can and can’t access certain projects. We will walk you through how to get your team dialed into the projects they need access to and not the ones they don’t.

Collaboration and communication with your team and customers are top-of-mind for your contracting business. 

You looked for the latest and greatest general contractor software to help with daily reporting, document management, or straightforward project management improvement.

Then CompanyCam appeared, and it was the tool you were looking for.

You implemented CompanyCam and BOOM, your business has never been more organized — leading to even better collaboration with your team and communication with your customers. 

Great job. Thanks for reading — that’s the end of this article. 

Wait! Only kidding. We’ve got user permissions stuff to talk about. 

Collaboration is cool, but what about when you need to organize who sees what when it comes to all of these projects you’re creating in CompanyCam? Believe it or not, hiding projects is one of the most common questions our customers ask. 

So guess what? We’re going to quickly walk you through how to hide those important projects and make sure they’re being seen by the right people. 

You Must Ask For Permission First!

You’re on a brand new job site, and you’re ready to get a new project all set up in CompanyCam. 

The creation of a project and who can view that project all come down to permissions.

Don’t worry, we’ll make this easy to understand. 

To create a new project, you need to have one of the following user permissions in CompanyCam: Admin, Manager, Standard, or Restricted. Yes, each of these roles can create a new project, but some very important differences exist. 

So I’m a _____ role, what can I do? Have no fear, we give you the need-to-know info on each of these roles right here and now. 

Admin

These users have your full trust and complete access to everything. They can manage users and set up integrations. Admins can create or delete anything and upgrade, downgrade, or cancel your account. This is a great fit for a president, owner, controller, or office administrator. 

Manager

These users have access to all projects and features. They can manage users and set up integrations. Managers can create or delete anything, but cannot upgrade, downgrade, or cancel your account. This is a fantastic fit for a crew lead, foreman, or supervisor on your team. 

Standard

These users can view all of your projects and use all features. They cannot manage users, delete anything, upgrade, downgrade, or cancel your account. This is a great role for crew members, full-time employees, or say, a technician. 

There is one more user type and this is what we’ll focus on today. That is the Restricted role. Keep reading as we turn our attention to those user permissions.

You can hide projects and shine visibility on others for specific users in CompanyCam.

Excuse Me, but That’s a Restricted Area

Maybe you have a part-time employee that you would like to give some level of access to CompanyCam, but with some safeguards added. 

That’s where the Restricted user role is so valuable and a core foundation for hiding specific projects from certain users within CompanyCam. 

Restricted users are unique because they can create projects just like the other user permission sets listed above, but they can only see Projects they’ve created or been assigned to. 

While the Restricted user role can create projects, they can’t access ALL company projects. They are only able to view projects they create or that you (as an Admin or Manager) assign to them. Within those projects, they can view content, add content, and access Reports and To-Dos. They also can’t jump in and start managing other users. 

Worried about something important getting deleted? Don’t worry, restricted users can’t delete anything from within what you have set in CompanyCam.

Another benefit? A restricted user’s feed isn’t inundated with photos and projects they aren’t working on or don’t care about.

How Do I Change Who Can See What? 

So how do you change one of your team member’s permission roles? 

Remember, you must have the Admin or Manager user permissions role to change another user’s permissions/​role.

So you’re already an Admin, for instance, and now you’re ready to start managing your team’s permissions so you know exactly which projects a user or set of users can see. 

Changing this is easy. (NOTE: to change user permissions, you must use the desktop version of CompanyCam or use a web browser on your phone.)

  1. Log in on the web at app​.com​pa​ny​cam​.com and choose Users from the menu on the left side of the screen.

  2. Click on the 3 dots in the upper right corner of the user’s card you wish to change and select Edit.

  3. Select the user role that best matches what that person will be doing. Remember, you have the following choices between Admin, Manager, Standard, and Restricted. You click Learn More under each role or see our details above about each.

CompanyCam helps you set the right user permissions so your team has access to the right projects

How About Granting Access to Just One Project?

You can do that too! You can send anyone a live timeline link of a project. But what if you want to add the homeowner themselves to the project so they can contribute photos? That’s where the Guest user role will come in handy. Remember, you must use a web browser versus the app to add a Guest User. 

  1. Sign in to app​.com​pa​ny​cam​.com on a web browser.

  2. Open the project that you want to add a Guest user to.

  3. Click the Share button in the upper right corner of the page.

  4. Click Add Guest Users from the menu, then click on Add Guest user in the dialog box that pops up.

  5. Type in the email address(es) of those you’d like to add as a Guest user.

  6. During this process, you can put an Access Expiration Date and also can toggle photo access to all photos. 

The Guest user role can only access this project through the link sent to them. When you add a guest user for a specific project in CompanyCam, that person will receive a text message that includes a link to access the project. They will need to tap the link, verify their email address, and can then begin adding photos to the project.

The text message will also detail how to add photos and/​or notes from the computer or mobile device for that Guest user.

A guest user can add unlimited photos to your project and make unlimited comments but you can also choose if the Guest users can see the images you’ve added to the project.

But Wait, There’s More!

This just scratches the surface of what CompanyCam can do to help you organize your important projects and build a better system of collaboration and communication with all of your team members. 

You can control access so that the right teammates have the right permissions to see the projects they need to work with daily. 

Ready to learn even more? Search our knowledge base or check out the basics from our team to get up to speed on all the awesome ways CompanyCam can help scale your business.

Already using CompanyCam and ready to add users? We’ve got details on how to get your entire team on board.

"I don't need help with my photos, but I really need to get my projects organized."

Guess what? That's our speciality.

Part of the amazing Content Strategy team at CompanyCam, John is a Senior Content Strategist and focuses on crafting and delivering value to contractors and their businesses through content. When he’s not thinking about the next great idea to share with the world, he enjoys building and playing guitars, working on classic cars/​trucks, playing golf (sometimes well), and spending time with his family.

Sign up for a free account.

Get your team up and running in less than 3 minutes.

No credit card required Available on iOS, Android, and Web